What a year

March 3, 2015,  I wrote “What IS the After Hour Diaries?”- an introduction to the journey I was about to embark on. I had committed to envelop myself in a scene I had never been a part of, to review bands I had never even heard of- and write about it each week. I still vividly remember my fingers trembling as I typed, and being filled with a mixture of excitement, nervousness, and fear. Once I published that first post, I knew there was no turning back… even though I didn’t have the slightest idea what I was doing, or if I would do it right. For the first several weeks I needed constant reassurance that I was doing alright, and then one day- I realized: I’ve GOT this. From that point forward I’ve remained true to myself and my commitment to never slander anyone in my reviews. To put as much passion in each review as the musicians put into their music; I aspire for my words to make readers fan in love with the bands, the way that bands make me fall in love with music.

Mercy Brown at the Knit was my first show and review- I was hooked. I met the band afterwards and was SO fan-girl I could hardly talk! It’s crazy to think that in the year since, I’ve grown so much in confidence, knowledge, abilities, and professionalism; I was once scared to approach a local band, and now I can comfortably have conversations and interviews with national bands! I want to say that I owe that to all of you.

Over this past year, I have been blessed by being welcomed into the scene and accepted, given the opportunity by many of you to sit down and interview, and learn from.  I’ve gotten to see countless shows, meet countless bands, and come to know some very incredible and talented people. I’ve watched more passion and creativity emerge from this scene then I could have ever dreamed of.  Many that read this are loyal fans of After Hour Diaries, but for some this is fairly new- no matter which category you fall into, I am grateful for you. The musicians and the fans of music are the reason why I do this. I have found my calling in life, and I would never trade it for anything- my reviews are why I get up every day, inspired by all I have experienced already, and eager for what’s to come. The musicians in this scene have helped me refine more of who I am in one year then I ever have before in my lifetime- I can’t thank you enough for that!

In the recent months, I’ve had the privilege of learning how to play drums under the direction of some of the most talented drummers I’ve ever seen- right here in Spokane no less! I am now the drummer in a local band, something I have craved for a long time. I am confident that this will help me have a better understanding of what musicians go through for their music; which I hope will help me become a better writer- as you all deserve the best I can give.

From the bottom of my heart, I want to thank the entire Spokane music scene: Every band I’ve worked with, ever person who reads my reviews, and ever fellow music lover I’ve met along the way- for giving me the richest and most fulfilling year I have ever had. I’m very excited for the year to come, many big adventures on the way, amazing people to meet, and experiences I can’t even imagine yet! I especially want to thank:

*Gary cook for seeing something in me and encouraging it to grow
*Howard Houchens (Kayla and Shawn you contributed her also) for supporting me financially and giving me the ability to put ALL my focus on building my dream and reaching my goals
*Jani Bers for making me a part of the Spungo International family
*Doug McCamley for making HellbentHalo my extended family
*John Dick for being my right-hand man for interviews and promo shoots
*Angi Terry for believing in me and setting up some very special interviews and experiences, as well as teaching me a LOT
*My band mates in Glaciers of Ember, and my closest friends…Each of them have supported me in my journey, and there are so many more…
That’s a wrap for this week Lovey’s. See you next week same time and place to begin our next year together!

✯Daisy✩Devine✯

Leave a Reply

