Children of the sun

How do you describe a force that courses through your veins like a natural disaster? An energy that demands you to get up and move no matter what your are doing? I’ll tell you how- you call it Children of the Sun.
Saturday night at Rated R tattoo marked their debut performance on the

scene and I was there to witness every minute. Now,  granted- I

may be slightly biased, considering I’ve always had a soft spot for Bret Allen’s vocals- but I dare ANYONE to correct me when I say that this band’s sound (not only covers, but also their originals) are impossible not to enjoy! The lyrics are powerful (Black: “when the black comes out to play, you better stay away… when the black comes out to play, say goodbye to the man that you knew yesterday”) the music motivating. No matter how hard I try, there’s just no way that I’ll be able to come up with any description or metaphor that’s quite accurate for this impressive and hard working five-some; rather than try, all I will emphasizes how badly you need to see them in person.

If you have ANY knowledge of our scenes past bands, you will recognize the following members and know what I mean-

Bret Allen on vocals
Brandon George on guitar
Nick Johnson on guitar
Zak Kronich on drums
Kenzy Schroer on Bass

What a fucking line up! And I KNOW I’m not the only one that agrees- right next to me rocking out were Blistered Earth’s Shawn Murphy and Cody Davis! Now, I haven’t had an official interview with these guys, but I have had the pleasure of talking to most of the members in person about music, and they are absolutely genuine music Lovers, passionate about what they do and humble enough to be grateful for each and every fan. My advice? Visit their page, show your support with a ‘like’, and come out to see them on March 12 at The Viking, and prepare to have your socks rocked right off.

That’s a wrap for this week Lovey’s! Tune in tomorrow morning at 11am for Spungo International’s “Bags of hot air”, where Jani and I play hits with an areal theme, and a surprise guest I’ll be interviewing. 🙂 See you next week, same time and place!

✯Daisy✩Devine✯

Leave a comment